Contact Us | Directory | Directions | Church Website

History

Reverend Francis J. Early sold his land, on the eastside of Indianapolis, to the Archdiocese of Indianapolis for Holy Spirit Parish. His only requirement was that he remain its pastor until his death. His wish was granted and he led Holy Spirit until his death in 1963. The first mass was held on Pentecost Sunday, May 20, 1947. Holy Spirit School was staffed by the Sisters of Providence from Saint Mary's of the Woods from Terre Haute, Indiana. We opened our doors for the first school day on September 8, 1949. We have a rich history on the eastside of Indianapolis, famous for our Summer Festival which began the summer of 1948.

History